Seventeen World Domination: How the 13 Member Boyband is Making History

Seventeen or SVT, the 13 member Kpop boy group is moving towards world domination and they deserve it all. Here’s how they made it big. Proof that idol talent extends far beyond the limits of the stage.

Over the years since their debut in 2015, the 13-member K-pop group Seventeen or SVT has grown up right before fans’ eyes. They’ve released seven EPs, three full-length studio albums and are starting a world tour in March. Not only does the group as a whole draw you in with its smooth yet upbeat sound, they create a connection with their audience. Each member has a charisma that helps them stand out. Each performance and interview is like a constant reminder that the group just wouldn’t be the same without all of them.

The charming set of vocalists, rappers and dancers have already been in the public eye since as early as 2013. Regular live-streams of their trainee lives via UStream’s “SEVENTEEN TV”, as well as the broadcasting of their final lap before debut on MBC’s “Seventeen Project: Big Debut Plan”, were a great way for fans (then and now) to get to know and grow to love the members – making their first stage all the more thrilling and grandiose a spectacle.  

Who is Seventeen?

Seventeen or SVT is a 13 member Kpop boy band that debuted in 2013, under Pledis Entertainment. They are broken up into three sub units so that each member has an area of expertise. Each sub unit has a leader. Their captivating stage presence has stunned fans ever since their debut, with utterly amazing tracks like “Don’t wanna cry” and “Clap”. Here’s how the sub units work.

Hip Hop Sub Unit:

  • S.Coups (leader of the hip-hop unit and the group as a whole)
  • Wonwoo
  • Mingyu
  • Vernon

Vocal Sub Unit:

  • Woozi (leader)
  • Jeonghan
  • Joshua
  • DK
  • Seungkwan

Performance (dance) Sub Unit:

  • Hoshi (leader)
  • Jun
  • The8
  • Dino

Their debut EP 17 Carat charted on Billboard for almost three months

It was there for 11 weeks and became the longest running album on the Billboard World Albums chart in 2015. They were the only Korean idol group to enter Billboard’s “21 Under 21 Hottest Young Stars” in 2015. Their debut track “Adore U” was written and produced by Woozi, leader of the vocal subunit, and the accompanying performance choreography was devised by leader of the performance subunit, Hoshi. Their first music show win was for “Pretty U” on Show Champion, 4 May 2016.

Their official fan club is named Carat after their first album “17 CARAT” — fans are the carats that help SEVENTEEN’s diamonds shine. The name was picked through fan votes and was announced on Valentine’s Day, 2016. Their fans are the carats that help Seventeen shine. In a video with Vanity Fair, Vernon said, “Back to 2015, before our debut, we performed this song called ‘Shining Diamonds.’ The fan name ‘carat’ started off from that song… So our fans are diamonds, carats.”

They are involved in writing and producing a lot of their music

An article by MTV says that Woozi “crafted much of the group’s sound since their debut.” Woozi said that making the music themselves “feels more profound.”

Woozi told Refinery 29, “At the end of the day, regardless of what is going on, our music is what we sing and what we show our audience. So I believe the music has to be sincere, and reveal our genuine nature. So every album of ours holds the messages and stories that we want to tell the most. And I think that is why Carats like our music.”

Official Fan Colours

Their official fan colours, gentle pastels ‘Rose Quartz’ and ‘Serenity’, were revealed on their 500th day since debut. These also happened to be the Colours of the Year for 2016, a first for Pantone to feature two colours for this annual titling.

Seventeen’s Achievements

SEVENTEEN had been topping Oricon charts and selling out Japan’s concert venues (Saitama Super Arena — Japan’s largest indoor stadium) even before they officially debuted in Japan. And thanks to their huge popularity, their official debut in 2018, with the song “Call Call Call,” was a great success! The mini album itself, “We Make You,” was also certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of Japan (RIAJ).

Just recently, they’ve also just released a new Japanese title track, “Happy Ending,” where as the album itself is scheduled to be released in the next few days. In 2018, SEVENTEEN had their “Ideal Cut” tour around Asia, totaling 18 concerts over six months. After their final concert in Taiwan, they announced that they would be holding an encore concert in Seoul, at none other than the Olympic Gymnastics Arena. This was the first time the boys held a concert there and it holds significance for the fact that it is one of the largest arenas in Korea, proving that they have the star power to sell out such big venues. They’ve also watched their senior artists hold concerts there, so it’s a dream come true for them to be able to do the same. Fans packed the arena, and approximately 25,000 people were in attendance over the two nights of concerts!

In 2018, a few members of SEVENTEEN participated in releasing a similarly titled OST for popular web drama “A-Teen.” This OST did so well, it even climbed to the No. 1 spot on charts, and won them the Best OST award at MAMAs 2018.

SEVENTEEN’s sixth mini album, broke all their prior records. It’s physical album sold more than 330,000 copies in first week sales (fourth group ever to do so), and over 500,000 copies in accumulative sales, making them one of the top-selling artists of 2019 so far.

SEVENTEEN confirms April comeback in Japan; gears up for their first self produced magazine GOING

SEVENTEEN has officially announced the amazing news of their Japanese comeback in April. Their company Pledis Entertainment revealed the news on the group’s official website and SNS accounts on February 2, 2021, sharing that SEVENTEEN will be coming back with their Japanese single “Hitori Janai” which roughly translates to, “I Am Not Alone”. According to their company, it will be a song about the youth and their courage and determination as they stand at the turning point in their lives. It will also serve as a message of hope to Carats (the SEVENTEEN fandom) all over the world as they look forward to a future where SEVENTEEN can meet their precious fans once again.

“Hitori Janai” is part of the group’s 7th mini-album which will also include the Japanese version of the song “I’m Going to You Now,” the original version of which was released in 2018.×

At the same time, SEVENTEEN is also gearing up for their first self-produced magazine called “GOING”. The idea was conceived by member Mingyu and proceeds from the magazine will be donated to charity.

ALSO READ ABOUT: Rosé ‘On the Ground’ MV Release time: When will BlackPink Rosé’s new solo song release in India?

Scroll to Top